Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

buying a camaro and parting it out

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2015, 05:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buying a camaro and parting it out

hi all, I am new to the LS world as well as motor swaps. Instead of getting an old 5.3L truck motor of unknown origin from a junk yard I have the bright idea of buying a running Camaro and parting it out.

I have in my sites a 2000 z28 automatic with 185k miles on it. the guy wants $3000 for it and my budget for this motor before computer flash and tuning is $2000. So I'd be getting the engine, accessories, exhaust, harness, computer, and pedal assembly all in one go. but I would have to make up a grand out of the body

what are people getting out of these shells? scrap yard would do $300ish (no. CA area) and I'm not the first to have this idea I'm sure theres plenty empty of Camaros floating around out there. is this the way to go here? I see a lot of stand alone LS1 engines complete going for 2500-3500. cost effective and LS aluminum do not go together I know but I'm ready to pull the trigger at these prices. someone talk me out of it
Old 11-10-2015, 08:21 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

pull the drivetrain and sell the rest on here... list it as a "roller" someone will make a drag car out of it or swap the drivetrain from one they wrecked etc...

try to get it for $2500 then sell the rust free California roller
Old 11-11-2015, 01:01 AM
Teching In

I bought it. He wouldn't take less than 3
Old 11-11-2015, 04:34 AM
Teching In

Depending on condition of interior and exterior parts, you can easily part it out. I bought a wrecked 99 with 110k for $3000, needed hood, fender, bumper cover, and headlight but everything else was in great shape. Parted it down to the shell and made about $2500, and I still have some parts laying around. So for a weekends worth of work I ended up with all the parts you listed (eng, trans, exh, etc...) for about $500