Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

just got EFI live, trying to tune forged h/c/i/etc/etc built 347

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 03:10 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Post just got EFI live, trying to tune forged h/c/i/etc/etc built 347

as the title says, I am completely new to EFI live, and I am trying to fine-tune my car. spent hours reading, learned a lot, but now I have some specific questions. finding out more and more that this is going to be a very long learning process.

the car has been email-tuned by slowhawk, and is running very well for the most part. what is left are little nuances that I dislike and want to eliminate.

the car is a manual 6, forged 347, with trickflow cnc 215 heads, professionally ported Fast 90/90 combo, and the VRX5 cam (236/238 .601/.605 lift; 113 lca)

I have all the boltons and supporting mods, i.e. fuel injectors, asp underdrive, oil pump, ls-7 lifters/trick flow pushrods, and the Kooks long tubes with the kooks catted Y and an electronic cutout.

okay... so...

1. as it is now, the car exhibits a light surging whenever I cruise at lower rpms. the range seems to be about 1500-2100 rpms.
it is subtle enough that you can almost ignore it, but I am building a daily-driveable car and the surging goes completely against what i've built the car for. as those of you with manual transmissions know, 1500-2100 is where you cruise at 20,30,40, and 75 mph.....so id like this to go away and I have no idea what i should start looking at.

I still have the stock 3.42 gears, and will be upgrading to the 3.73's sometime in the future. i know this will help the problem by raising my cruising rpms, but thats not the point. i feel like the car is running improperly when it surges, and I want to know what it is and what i can do to correct the problem.