Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lots of ?? tune.

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2009, 11:29 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question lots of ?? tune.

Well i will try to get this all out in one post. First off i will start by saying that i am a ase certified master tech and shop owner. So i have a pretty good knowlege of all systems on cars. Though i have done little to no "pcm tunes" other than factory flashes with the GM tech 2. I have played around with an older fast system. Anyway i am debating on getting the stuff to do my own tuning and maybe some sideline stuff at the shop. I figure with what i have spent on mail order tunes, and so on i couldve had a lot of stuff by now but never really wanted to mess with it. After i installed my 402 i took it to a well known shop outside Chicago for a tune and all i can say is i should have just wiped my *** with the $500.00. Then i found a guy fairly close that does a excellent job tuning, so i took him my car and my buddy sent his 3rd gen with the fast system along too. (his car was unbelieveable f1 charger 383 ect... bad *** ride) Any way he had our cars for over a month. My buddies ended up catching fire, well this guy had no garage keepers ins, and my friend had not gotten an appraisal yet so needless to say he lost his ***. Long story short my bill was just under $2000 for the tune, and yes it runs awesome. But i know that in the future i will be changing heads and cam. I am soon considering changing to an 85mm mass air, which will require a retune. So what should i do. I am not really that good with computers, dont have a laptop yet. So i would be basically starting from scratch. I am tired of spending money for other people to tune my car and then have to change something. I have searched on this site for hours to decide wich system is better, and i think either efi live or hp tuners will do. But as i say once i know what i am doing i might be doing more and more cars, how do the credits work, cables ec