Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6.0+Tourqer V2 cam= Idle searching/stalling

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2011, 07:21 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 6.0+Tourqer V2 cam= Idle searching/stalling

Hey guys, i just upgraded from my wore out 5.3 i swapped in my 98 blazer to a 6.0l and installed a tourqer v2 cam. I had a buddy send me his tune with the same setup but he had bigger injectors and a stall. so i just used his idle tables , timing ,and engine size..no ve or fueling becuase his injector size difference .
So now to my problem. I start it up it will idle for a sec and die or start idle searching/surging and die unless i just give it 2% throttle. at 2% it idles beautiful
Im new to the cam tuning and would appreciate info on causes and correction. Im using hptuner pro and just got this thing going last night.
Old 06-14-2011, 07:29 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It sounds like it needs more airflow - did you adjust your base running airflow tables at all? Did you adjust the throttle body at all (i.e. do you have a set screw you can adjust the point where the throttle blade sits at rest)? Do a search on HPT or here for "RAFIG"....

Also - the stock VE will be dumping too much fuel in under 1600 rpms. So, you'll need to adjust the VE to get it to idle smoothly.

Last edited by SSpdDmon; 06-14-2011 at 07:37 AM.
Old 06-14-2011, 07:41 AM
TECH Fanatic

I didnt adjust the throttle body because i always heard its a bad way to fix the problem and should adjust the tune.. but yeah thats what i was thinking of doing but didnt want to cause any other issues with the throttle being slightly opened.

im about to check on the base airflow tables , i believe i had copied all those off my buddies tune
Old 06-14-2011, 07:48 AM
TECH Fanatic

ok i just looked at the airflow tables and i didnt adjust them because i didnt know what on there would be linked to the bigger injectors my buddy has.