Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

2001 WS6 Will not turn off after removing key

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2016, 06:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 WS6 Will not turn off after removing key

I am new to the LS1Tech Forum. I have three Firebirds (2000, 2001 WS6, 2002 Firehawk) that I bought new from the local dealer. I have had great performance from these cars. Raised three kids thru high school and college with these cars and never have had any major problems. The WS6 was involved in heavy damge front driver side accident about 6 years ago. No airbags deployed. Rebuilt with OEM parts. This is the dilemma. This past weekend, the 2001 WS6 will not shut off even with the key is removed. Indications of a problem started when the radio would not shut off after the key ignition switch was turned off, even after opening the driver door. It was occasional but became more frequent the last couple of weeks. Then the next indication the car would not shut off after turning the ignition switch off and removing the key. Then the most alarming thing occurred when the car while running with the key removed, the engine would increase, by itself, to 2500-3000 rpm! That is a shocking moment! The only way I deduced to shut the car down was to remove the fuel pump fuse. I did install a new key ignition switch a year ago. After this incident, I did so again this weekend assuming that was the problem. There was a severely compromised white wire from the switch as typical for these steering columns but did not last anywhere near the original switch for nearly 14 years. The parts supplier warrantied the switch. To no avail, the car powers up without a key and barely idles 300-500 rpm without pedal pressure. This well beyond my expertise. If there is a link or thread on this forum regarding this phenomenon, please post! I have searched the form and could not locate any similar posts. Please understand if I have not used the forum properly to l