Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

Rust on my GTO

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2015, 05:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rust on my GTO

Hey guys, I just purchased an 05 GTO about a week ago. I am new to this forum, so this is my first time posting and I hope I am putting this in the right thread section. But anyway, I am a bit concerned of the rust I found under my GTO. I live in California, and the GTO is from Minnesota. What do you guys think? Should I worry? What can be done?
Attached Thumbnails Rust on my GTO-image1.jpg   Rust on my GTO-image2.jpg  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:14 PM
Teching In

Looks like a normal northern-driven car's undercarriage. Looks similar to the undercarriage of my old Ford Mazda after driving it through four winters in Connecticut. Frankly, unless you're really **** about it, I wouldn't worry about it. If it's going to be a show car and/or you're going to be embarrassed about the rusty underside, you can always go through the expense of taking it all apart and cleaning the rust off or using a rust-converting primer followed by some chassis paint. More than likely, you'll have parted with the car long before undercarriage rust becomes a significant problem.
Old 08-08-2015, 02:38 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

Buy a set of Rhino ramps, crawl under the car and clean/ use Rust-Oleum satin black on everything. The rust doesn't look too bad, but I'd fix it. One more thing... Scrap the loose undercoating free and apply new under coating in the areas that need it.

Last edited by Jontall; 08-11-2015 at 01:52 AM.
Old 08-10-2015, 10:10 PM
On The Tree

^ what he said....doesn't look that bad or bad at all.
Old 08-13-2015, 03:45 AM
Staging Lane

Looks fine.
Old 08-14-2015, 08:00 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 20 Likes on 13 Posts