Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

rotor/pad question

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2014, 08:26 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 46 Likes on 35 Posts

Default rotor/pad question

Hey guys I'm just getting into road racing and have a quick question.

I'm getting new rotors and HPS pads for the street, I plan to go to my first track event in a few weeks and was planning to swap the front pads over to one of the Carbotech race pads before I hit up the track. My question is do I have to swap the rotor as well? I can get a spare set of blank rotors for the track if I need to, but with the added hassle of changing the rotor and then changing it back I was wondering if it was necessary. Is there any safety issue with using two different pads on the same rotor (either on the track or on the street once I swap the pads back)? I have the CTS-V front brakes if that matters.
Old 04-19-2014, 06:09 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

technically, youd want to keep the same pads with the same rotors. something about the compound of the pad being imprinted on the rotor, something like that.

besides that, there is always a very good chance you can warp a rotor, especially on your first track day. ive been tracking for several years, and id say to get dedicated track pads/rotors. you dont need to go for top line rotors.....any new parts store will do for a day. napa, autozone, local store brand, anything. they only have to last a day. if you get more out of them, fine, but its cheap insurance to have new, straight rotors for a track.

add to that, when changing pads/rotors, you bleed the brakes also, which is another important track day prep. you should either flush the entire system if its been a while, or at the very least, do a thorough bleed at each corner before the track.