Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

87-92 SBC, Gen-I or Gen-II

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2007, 03:42 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 87-92 SBC, Gen-I or Gen-II

Okay this is killing me. I'm a newbie here, and a fairly inexperienced newbie when it comes to performance street engines (was involved in circle track racing for a few years, but that's really a different game all together). Anyway, regarding the Gen-I versus Gen-II SBC blocks, I keep finding conflicting information.

Specifically, I cannot figure out exactly what to call the blocks used between 1987 and 1992. I know that the pre-'87 blocks were Gen-I 2-piece rear main seal blocks, and the blocks used in the '92 LT1 and later (until LS1) were Gen-II 1-piece rear main seal blocks. But what about the blocks between those years?? I have seen them referred to as Gen-I blocks with 1-piece rear main seal, and also as regular Gen-II blocks. So which is it? And if they ARE actually a 1-piece rear main seal Gen-I block, then how are they different from the Gen-II?... and why did they not call it a Gen-II (making LT's Gen-III, LS's Gen-IV, etc.)???

Can someone clarify this (stupid) question for me PLEASE?! It's driving me nuts

Thanks y'all
Old 03-11-2007, 03:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

The Gen 2 engine family is the LT-1's made between 92'-97'. The one peice rear main seal engines that are not LT-1's are still a Gen 1 family motor. The Gen 2 LT-1's have a slightly different block design for its cooling passages and a few other item's that are only used by the late model LT-1.
Old 03-11-2007, 04:27 PM
14 Second Truck Club