Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Finally fixin my speakers need help PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2008, 09:01 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Finally fixin my speakers need help PLEASE

OK I have never done anything with speakers before so i need help. I just bought these http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1166234894507 to replace the back seat speakers and when i took the old speakers out they arent the same. On the Old speakers there are 2 sets of wires conected to 4 metal prongs(I dont know what to call them). And on the new speakers there are only 2 prongs. I bought those thinking the original speakers are 2 Ohm but on the back of the speakers it says 4 Ohm. Did I buy the right speakers.

Please Help
Old 09-28-2008, 09:29 PM
TECH Regular

If its in a firebird, its a dual 4 ohm speaker, which presents the 2 ohm load. There are two voice coils that each recieve power from the amplifier. Just select one of the positive/negative pairs and use that to power your new speakers. Your not gonna get the same sound, though. Those infinities are 2 ways and the factory set up is for only midbass, so you will not hear the tweeters. If i were you, i would return them and pick up either kicker cvt 6.5's, bazooka's 6.5's, or the ED 7 inch subs.
Old 09-28-2008, 09:47 PM
Teching In

Ya i was gonna return them tomorrow. So use the old wiring harness and just sodder it on to the new speakers. And for the new speakers what specs am i lookin for. I know 6.5in but how many ohms, 2-way, 3-way? And if you could can you give me some links please?
Old 09-29-2008, 02:05 AM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts