Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

QA1 instal questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 12:07 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default QA1 instal questions

I just recently bought some adjustable QA1 front and rear coilovers. I am new to all the suspension stuff and Im looking for a detailed installation guide so i install them correctly. Any info will be appreciated Thanks
Old 11-10-2010, 09:18 AM
Teching In

I am wondering about the rear QA1 as well. How is the install and whats good setting for street? drag?
Old 11-10-2010, 11:23 AM

The rear coilover kit is a pain in the *** to install. I just had front and rear coilovers installed last week.

The shop I went to quoted me $110 for the rears (they thought it would only take a bit over an hour) but they ended up spending a good 5 or 6 hours on it trying to weld the support plates in. It's super tight up there.

Unless you're a skilled welder and have the time and tools to clean around the weld area (paint and insulation) I would take it to a shop.

REARS
Good settings (single adjustable shocks):
- street: 6
- drag: maybe 1 or 2 for the most weight transfer

I had them all set to 0 and worked my way up, 0 all around makes it ride like a Cadillac, super soft and springy like you're on a boat. When I dialed the rears up to 8 it was too stiff for the springs and I got a lot of small bounces. 6 is really good for the rears, no more rough bounces over road irregularities but still stiff enough to not squat too bad when you floor it.

FRONTS
I haven't played around with the fronts too much because after I set them to 12c/12r all around (I have double adjustable fronts) I haven't had any problems with them. I'm going to be playing around with the settings tomorrow since I've got the day off and I'll get back to you guys.
Old 11-11-2010, 12:14 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by Das Nic
REARS
Good settings (single adjustable shocks):