All sorts of crap going on...

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2010, 09:36 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default All sorts of crap going on...

Need some thought on what is going on with they way my car is running. I had my motor rebuilt last year and it but it seems that I am having timing issues above 4k rpm. When under hard acceleration above 4k it starts to cut out or spudder. But driving around normally it runs fine. I put a catch can thinking that I am getting too much oil in the cylinders and causing detonation. Well it still doing it. Now, what I have noticed is my volt gauge is reading low when driving and lower at idle. I have a scan master and I have monitored the voltage that way for a while and at idle it's at 11.2 now. I do have underdrive pulleys but this has not been a factor in the performance in the past. Could my alternator be the cause of the detonation at higher rpm? In the past couple of days when I take off from a stop it seems to want to stall and it backfires. I do have one amp and a power sub. I have an Optima battery that is around two years old.

If it is the alternator I am looking at a 150 amp Powermaster.

If it is not the alternator, could the detonation be coming from oil through the valve seals? I am still consuming oil with the catch can.

I have no idea what is going on.

Any thoughts?
Old 06-18-2010, 10:04 PM
Banned

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Fuel or tune? o2s too maybe?
Old 06-18-2010, 10:21 PM
On The Tree

It has been tuned but at WOT I had problems from the get go. I was throwing a code that the knock sensors were bad so I changed those. It still detonated after that. I run the highest grade fuel. I have not changed out the O2's yet.
Old 06-19-2010, 06:18 AM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by 98Birdie