Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

vibration @ 60mph, poorly mounted wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2005, 01:07 PM
RIP April 14, 2008

Location: the land where cars repeatedly hit my bumper when I'm in the store...
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vibration @ 60mph, poorly mounted wheel?

Hey all,

So I just got my GSD3's recently, and I went for a drive this morning. Pls keep in mind I have no experience with tires/wheels. Anyway I am driving along and at about 60, the car seems to get a bit shaky, vibrates pretty good, seems to feel like its coming from the passenger rear wheel.

So I got home, checked all my lug covers (stock 98z chrome rims) and they were all tight, except for the (lo and behold) passenger rear wheel, of which all 5 I had to retighten by hand, as they were pretty loose. Not falling off loose, but turnable by hand loose. It also appears from the looking at the rear of the car that one of the drive tires may be tilted slightly inward at the bottom, I cannot be sure, maybe the sun is just playing tricks on my eyes.

Now I dont know if all this means that the lugs themselves are loose or what, but since they were just mounted recently with my new GSD3s, I am thinking maybe it was a poor install job? Any input would be greatly appreciated. can't risk taking her up 60+ until I get this resolved.

TY
brad
Old 03-03-2005, 03:55 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Loose lugs would be a problem, but the wheel and tire might not be balanced properly.

Double check ALL your lugs and make sure they are torqued to 100 ft/lbs. No more no less.
Old 03-03-2005, 05:43 PM
RIP April 14, 2008

thank you good sir.
Old 03-03-2005, 06:12 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post