Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1998 grill delete

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2006, 10:17 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 grill delete

hi this is my first time postin in this section. I have a white 1998 Camaro Z28. I took the grill off the front yesterday. And dont get me wrong it looks alot better with it off, but now i am thinkin i shouldnt have done it due to the fact all the holes were the old grill popped in are showing. Is this how it should be..and also the styro foam, or however you spell that, am i suppose to leave it alone, or take that out too? ..is this suppose to give the car a more ram air type set up or just strictly appearance? thanx
Old 01-17-2006, 10:25 AM
TECH Junkie

Yes, thats how its supposed to be. You can fill in those holes if you want, or get something like an SLP Bowtie grille, or a billet grille to go over that area if you want. But the cheapest route would be fill in the holes and paint to match.

And me personally, I wouldnt remove that insulation. You could put some mesh right there to make it look better, but I personally wouldnt mess with it (it'll do nothing but put air in, its not functional ram air unless you duct it from right there)
Old 01-17-2006, 11:20 AM
Launching!

what would i fill it in with?
Old 01-17-2006, 08:44 PM
TECH Junkie

Body filler of some kind I would assume. I'll let someone who's got more experience elaborate on that being Im covering mine with a SLP grille.
Old 01-18-2006, 05:30 AM
TECH Fanatic

correct, body filler will work, then u need to get it painted. dont remove the styrofoam. use mesh grille to cover it or something. my car is white also. i paint to paint that are black. then maybe put a billet grille on
Old 01-18-2006, 06:45 AM
TECH Resident

I heard a trick about putting superglue gel on sandpaper and sanding over the holes to fill them... Dont know anything else about it though...
Old 01-18-2006, 06:55 AM
TECH Fanatic