Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noob question, how to check atf level

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2009 | 07:59 PM
Launching!

Arrow Noob question, how to check atf level

This is gonna sound like a stupid question but how do you check the fluid level on a A4 trans since it's underneath and rear of the car? and what kind of fluid does it take, normal atf? I'm a noob with GM's as you can tell...

98 vette LS1

thanks
Old 04-04-2009 | 10:03 PM
TECH Senior Member

pop open the hood. the tranny dipstick should be in the middle to the left with a red tip. just use regular dex III tranny fluid. what i do is let the car warm up, and then shift all the way down and put it in every gear and let it sit in each gear for 5 seconds and work my way back up to park. then pull out the dipstick wipe it then, put it back in and see if its in the cross hatch. and if u need fluid, u pour the fluid in the same place where u pulled the dipstick out.
Old 04-04-2009 | 11:11 PM
TECH Fanatic
20 Year Member

It has a rear mounted transaxel assembly, so no dipstick under the hood or anywhere.

Copied from Vette forum,

Start the engine and allow the engine to idle until the transmission fluid normal operating temperature has been reached.
Depress the brake pedal and move the shift lever through the gear ranges, pausing a few seconds in each range. Return the shift lever to the PARK range.