Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Converters???

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2005, 06:13 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque Converters???

ok I'm a complete newbe to TC's.....since the car i'm getting will be an auto i was gonna get a 3000 stall with 3.42 or 3.73's and a B&M shift kit....what does a Stall t/c do anyways and how does it affect driving???.....the mods i'm gonna go is Full exhaust, Shift kit, gears, stall t/c maybe, volant air intake(while it's N/A) and someday Procharger will 5 or 6psi. will a stall work well with those mods for everyday driving and just being N/A will everyday driving be good with a 3K stall? and can i really "feel" a diff with the stall and gears? thank everyone and sorry bout the long post.
Old 07-26-2005, 12:06 PM
TECH Regular

well, when your just cruising around, the car needs more gas to get up to speed, kind of like a slipping clutch, it's just the converter being loose, which is normal, the bigger stall you get, the more loose it'll be, but when you mash on it, WOT, the RPM's will jump to over 3000 rpms and then climb with a 3000 stall. Right now, with a stock stall, it jumps to about 1800 or so.
Old 07-26-2005, 12:07 PM
TECH Addict

First of all, happy 21st coming up in a couple weeks, I also turn 21 soon. I also work at Lowe's like you.

If you're going to get an auto Z and plan to do a stall, find one with 3.23 gears. The A4s were offered with either the standard 2.73 gears or 3.23. Find one with those 3.23s, the door code for them is GU5. The code GU2 means 2.73s. That way you basically can live with those 3.23s until you feel the need (if at all) to step up to 3.73s.

Next, if you're going to get a shift kit, don't waste time with B&M's. It's nowhere near as good as the TransGo shift kit. You can find it at many sponsors. Speed Inc has it cheap, so go to ls1speed.com for it. It's a much better kit.