Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

02 Z28, pick my shift kit

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2008, 02:08 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 02 Z28, pick my shift kit

before you tell me to do a search...I did...and couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.

I am looking into a shift kit for my 02 Z28, mainly because I want to improve my fun factor around town and if it helps prolong my tranny, then that's okay too. The car doesn't see the strip, just spirited around town driving. I shift it manually around town sometimes, but usually only when scaring pedestrians around the local college campus!

What shift kit should I go with and why? I read about some stuff not playing well with torque management (I don't know what that is..I'm new to late model stuff) And if it helps, I have already loaded the Diablo Predator tune into my car.

Finally, do I need to install a trans cooler or deeper pan with the shift kit?
Old 04-10-2008, 06:23 PM
12 Second Club

Tom, ive always read good things about the B&M Kit, along with the Transgo and believe you cant go wrong either way. A external cooler is always a good thing to do any auto trans for longevity purposes and a must for any higher stalled applications. Up shifting an auto trans is fine, but down shifting could cause problems for the trans later down the road due to the fact that there isnt enough pressure with your foot off the accelerator pedal when shifting down. Ive read by transmission sponsors on this site that its alright to downshift IF you keep you foot on the accel. pedal just a slight bit to keep the pressure up in the trans. Hope this helps.
Old 04-10-2008, 10:25 PM
TECH Fanatic