Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How much of the LS1 donor car can I use?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2009, 02:40 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much of the LS1 donor car can I use?

Newbie here. I own a 98 TA WS6 which has given me a healthy respect for the LS1. My other car is a 64 skylark convertible which I am making into a custom. I just picked up a totalled out 02 TA LS1 6 speed car for a donor in the skylark.

I've been doing much research but have not been able find all the answers I'm looking for. I need to keep out of pocket costs down as much as possible and want to keep purchase part cost to a minimum. I am quite capable at fabrication and thinking I could use the entire car harness, gauges,complete AC, Radiator, fuel tank sending unit assembly, clutch and brake pedal assembly including slave and master cylinders, and possibly even the steering column.

Is there some place that I can read up on someone else using an F body donor car in manner? What problems cannot be avoided? Thanks much!
Old 10-11-2009, 03:08 PM
TECH Regular

You can use all of that stuff (well most of it) but the problem is you'll probably spend more on custom and fab work to get it work.

An A-body is the second most common LS1 swap platform behind the 67-72 f-body so you're in luck. Here's a few things that will help you.

1. gas tank with in tank pump; find a 92-96 Caprice or Impala SS tank. It's the same tank as the late 60s- early 70s A-bodies and is all setup up for a fuel injection hi PSI in tank pump. WAY cheaper than buying a Rock Valley tank.

2. Steering column, to get a quicker ratio steering column find one out of a 80's G-body like a Monte SS. The IROC's may work also but I cannot verify that.