Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Guy, Henry J LS1 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2004, 09:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy, Henry J LS1 Questions

Hi, this is my first time to post a "Thread", well actually the second. I was informed that I posted this in the wrong area! Oh well thats why we are here I suppose, to get help.
I have a 1951 Henry J and I'm ready to install a 2001 LS1/4L60, The donor power plant and the entire harness/computer & fuel pump came with the purchase of the LS1. I have a couple of questions that I need some help on.
Is there a vendor that can supply me with a "Complete" wire harness (mininum 12 circuit) for my car that will incorporate the LS1 engine harness, and make the necessary changes to the computer, i.e. VAT and RPM. I would very much like to have one company, one harness?
What are some of the things that I should change on the LS1 to obtain more reliable horsepower? Finally, what are some of the "Negatives" that should be addressed before I install the engine. Any help would be appreciated. I was directed to Speartech as one source.
Old 01-11-2004, 09:48 PM
Staging Lane

When I started my research for my conversion I am working on, I was refered to Jeg's for the retro wiring harness from Painless Wiring... I think its $499 and only requires that you add your powers, ground, and your basic ignition connections. I do however recall seeing that it was meant for 97-98... but I could be wrong. Good luck with your conversion...

TTYL!
Old 01-12-2004, 12:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

you could also send in the old harness to Speartech(sponsor----------------->)
and they could rework it for $450. plus he will answer any install questions for you, plus edit the computer for a price.
he can also delete all the emissions wiring that you wont be needing.

01+ have the updated oil pump and rod bolts, common problems on pre-01
01+ have the ls6 intake, which you wont have to plug the egr inlet.