Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1gen s10 lq4 swap carbed or efi?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2018, 07:12 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1gen s10 lq4 swap carbed or efi?

Hey guys. I just bought a really nice 1990 Chevy S10. I’ve been really wanting to swap an lq4 in my dream build for a foxbody. But here in onatrio they’re so hard to come by for a good price. I’ve decided to go with a truck instead since it kind of matches the vehicle ( truck motor in a truck) my plan is too do a t56 or whatever is equal trans. Lq4 I got from my uncles van. Efi or carbed. I’m not going to track it, it’s mostly for putting around and smoking all these hotboys in my area. I’m a low paid electrical apprentice ( for now) my main concern is if I should go with efi or carbed. The build isn’t t going to take a day so I’ll be saving money and researching the process for the swap. How hard is it too do the Manuel swap in the s10

Last edited by GmInfectedfox; 10-30-2018 at 07:26 AM.
Old 10-30-2018, 07:20 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 199 Likes on 145 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

EFI. It's got all the parts right? To put a carb on it would actually cost more.
Old 10-30-2018, 07:22 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by ls1nova71
EFI. It's got all the parts right? To put a carb on it would actually cost more.
yes sir all the parts are there. Oh I had no idea the carb guys were telling me it’s cheaper to go carbed
Old 10-30-2018, 07:31 AM
TECH Veteran

LS1Tech 10 Year

You'd have to buy an intake, carb and an ignition controller, that stuff adds up. To go EFI, since it's a '90 it will have a gas tank set up for a pump, so swap out the pump with a higher pressure pump and run some new lines. Then rework the harness, flash out the VATS and you're about done.
Old 10-30-2018, 08:05 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by ls1nova71