Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Donor LS1 Advice / Inspection & refresh

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2013, 11:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Donor LS1 Advice / Inspection & refresh

I've searched so pardon me if the question has been asked multiple times. I just purchased my next project car which is a 71 Firebird. I've wanted to put an LS1 in one of these second gens for awhile now. My goal is a daily drivable car with not much more power than the stock LS1. I would be more than happy if I could boost the crank hp to 350-400 range without spending a ton. If it ended up less, no biggie. This will be a street / cruiser car.

Here is my dilemma and where I need advice as I have no experience with LS1s. I plan on purchasing a complete LS1/T56 still bolted with accessories from the donor. Most of these have 90-120k miles. What would you recommend I do to this engine pre-swap to give it a refresh? I may as well do anything necessary while its out of the car. I don't want to tear it down to the short block, but if changing out things like WP, timing chain, head components, gaskets etc will give it life I would like to do it now. Recommendations?

Now for the second part regarding adding power... Should I leave the longblock stock and just not mess with it? Since I am seeking a slightly more than stock hp engine I could prob meet my goals with an LS6 intake, TB, high flowing filter, exhaust and tune. I was thinking of putting in a mild cam to reach my power goals which would include new valve springs and push rods in the kit. I've never done this before though and after reading a few books it does look complicated once you start degreeing the cam. Advice?

Thanks
Old 04-04-2013, 12:27 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts