Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A few question from a new guy

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2014 | 02:57 PM

Default A few question from a new guy

Okay, I'll try not to sound like every other new guy asking whats the best and cheapest way to make 500 hp.

So i'm pretty new at building motors especially to the ls style motors. I have a 1970 c10 short bed 2wd that I'm wanting to drop a ls motor in. I would like to come in around the 450 to 500 mark on horse power.

This truck will just be my little car show weekend driving toy. Wont see the strip or track or anything crazy. I would love to be able to beat a diesle truck or two around town and have plenty of power when I step on the throttle. So basicly just a well reliable motor with the power to back up the look of the truck.

To start i'm triying to decide which motor to build off of. I'm leaning towards an ly6 swapping out the cam and the intake. I dont have a tranny yet so if I went auto I know I would need a stall but I would like to drop a manual tranny in it but for now I would like some help./info deciding between a LQ9 or a ly6. A
Whats some pros and cons and opinions on which motor would fit my build idea best.
Right now i'm look at a budget of $3500 hoping that would cover me for a motor and tranny but if thats all motor i'm okay with it as I can save up and do another step of this project another day.

Thanks in advance.
Justin
Old 03-11-2014 | 03:54 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by straightshot
Okay, I'll try not to sound like every other new guy asking whats the best and cheapest way to make 500 hp.

So i'm pretty new at building motors especially to the ls style motors. I have a 1970 c10 short bed 2wd that I'm wanting to drop a ls motor in. I would like to come in around the 450 to 500 mark on horse power.