Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS2 into 1967 Tempest/GTO Clone

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2006, 10:40 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS2 into 1967 Tempest/GTO Clone

I have toasted too many traditional pontiac motors to count, and my wife has had it.

She has suggested I move to a new crate engine so i am thinking to move towards the 2006 LS2/T56.

Each time the the old 455 and 421 iron was rebuilt it cost a bloody fortune (between 8K and 12K depending on civility), and not one of 'em lasted. 4 pro built engines, and two of my own built ( I was a prototype machinist, mechanical engineer, and former pro mechanic in several of my past careers!) in the last 7 years. Too damned many times to do it again. Not to mention the cost is simply too high for 40 year old technology that pings at 9.5/1, and is too temperamental to live with street manners if ya want to run 12"s. I went through several Comp Cams camshaft failures before we all figured out the oil companies reformulated and removed some required additives (like zinc) thanks to the EPA!!! so our older engines do not last. Several bearing sets ruined, rods broken, expensive forged cranks ruined etc...and I am sick and tired of rebuilding it. In lost motors alone, i have spent well over 40K. Perhaps if I was still 20...I wouldn't mind redoing the same thing over, and over and over.....but at 46 and in seriously declining health, I simply want to drive the thing, and be able to turn on the ac, and not worry about stinking out the car behind me cuz the engines lose so much fuel due to carburetion and cylinder wash. I also want the thing to last more than a few years so the idea of a longer lasting engine really appeals.

I had an LS1/T56 98 WS6 that was built well after purchase, and ran consistent high 12's with it while getting 28 on the freeway, and frankly the engine was as smooth as a sewing machine around town, and damned powerful.