Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Braking issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2010, 05:01 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Braking issues

I installed new heads and increased the rocker arm ratio on my sbc. I had 10 inches of vacuum at an idle before now I'm at 6 inches and now the the brakes don't work too well. I have a 95 Firebird with stock front brakes and stock 9 1/2 drums on the back and vacuum canister. I installed the biggest wheel cylinder I can put in the drums, but it looks like I need to upgrade the brakes. I have a manual master I could use, but when I installed years ago the car didn't stop too good. I was thinking about putting LS brakes on the front and rear that I have laying around or go with an 11 inch drum on the rear or get some drag brakes for the rear and run the LS brakes in the front. I don't want to spend money if I don't have to. Anyone run a manual master with stock LS brakes on the street?
Old 06-20-2010, 08:16 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 70 Likes on 62 Posts

What size is the manual master cyl bore? [I've used the early Vette, non power M/C w/ good results. [1968 AIRC].
At that vac level, it's about impossible to get a good brake w/ power.
Have you considered a vac pump? Summit has them. not cheap, but will supply a good level of vac.
Here's a source for t/s a system.
http://www.mpbrakes.com/technical-su...leshooting.cfm
Old 06-20-2010, 02:23 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It's a 1.032 Strange master cylinder I bought years back. It didn't stop the car well at all. Probably due to the drums on the rear and single piston calipers on the front. I just checked Strange's website and they recommend running the the 4 piston calipers on the rear with the master I have. I'm leaning toward a set of Strange S series 4 piston calipers for the rear and putting the stock LS dual piston calipers on the front. That should stop the car well, but I will call a few places before I order them.
Old 06-20-2010, 03:32 PM