Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to to the track

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2005, 12:04 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to to the track

So i'm new to the tracxk and RWD cars, always had a FWD sports compact so now i finally have my first real car. I was just wondering how all of you warm up your tires? What i mean is how you all do burnouts and whatnot. It just seems like you put up the e brake but i don't wanna screw anything up, please don't flame or make fun as all this is new to me like i said. I have just recently gotten into racing (been around cars all my life though, dad works for ford and grandpa worked for GM) because my main love is music and drumming has been my main focus for the last 8 years but i figured i should get into a hobby and i love my SS and do a bit of street racing but reaslly would love to start at the track. Please, i need some feedback. Thanks!
Old 04-22-2005, 01:16 PM
12 Second Club

Don't go through the water box! (unless you have slicks, then by all means) If you are going to be using regular street tires just do a burnout for a few seconds to the tires warm and clean the dirt off of them. If you heat them up for too long, they will get greasy and give you less traction. Run regular street tires at around 23-25psi out back and around 30-35psi up front.
For drag radials it all depends. My Nittos like a big john force style burn out, while the M/T DRs don't need nearly as much becasuse they are a much softer compound to begin with.

As for how to do a burnout in an M6, my bird is an A4 so its easy and my DD is a 5spd honduh that can't do a burnout, so I don't really know.
Old 04-22-2005, 03:19 PM
Launching!