Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considerations for unprepped tracks?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2005, 10:38 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Considerations for unprepped tracks?

The track i go to (New England Dragway) does virtually no track prep (VHT) on street nights. What can I do to help my dismal 2.3s 60' times?

I'm using BFG KDW's 275/40/17 all around, with the mods listed below... I've tried running 35,25,20psi and havent really noticed a heck of a lot of difference. I've heard both sides of the coin, to lower pressure for track duty, and the other side saying that since they're street tires, to just run street pressure since that's what they are designed to be run on. Does VHT even make a difference for street tires? or is that something that is mostly only beneficial to people with slicks?

granted i'm still learning to launch on a 6-speed, and find the happy medium between bog and spin. I'm hoping to get into the 12's once i get my 60' down to a 2.0 and tighten up my shifts.
Old 08-03-2005, 10:57 AM
TECH Junkie

From my experience it is best to lined up directly behind cars using slicks, and that know what they are doing. VHT helps even street tires hook up. As for tire pressure, it is best to air them up to the point where the contact patch is the widest and most complete. This can be verified by doing a burnout, not a brake stand, and seeing if the tire marks are an even shade of black. Too low would show as the outer edges being darker ... too high and the out edges would be a lighter shade. I usually do a 5 second burnout behind a fast car running slicks, I make sure I am on top of his tire groove. I do the burnout out of the water and floor it all the way up to the line. Then I experiment with different stalls to see which is just shy of bogging fo the line.

Using this technique on unprepped tracks, where most low 12 second cars on drag radials are cutting 2.2s, I can cut 1.9s with my high 12 second SS.