Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Racing Sponsorship

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2005, 08:41 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Racing Sponsorship

I am going to be racing a full schedule next year at some local tracks, i know a few local owners that i would like to ask to help sponsor the car to help cut the cost. This will be the 1st Full Season i will be running, my question is, what is a fair price to ask to bring someone on as a Sponsor? Keep in mind i am not on the NHRA schedule. Just curious if anyone else is doing this and trying to find what everyone else does with this? Thanks
Old 08-22-2005, 11:28 AM
7 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm not an expert on this, but you want to make it a reasonable request (money, product or a combo of both), and remember the costs involved in putting their name on your car somewhere (decals, clothing, etc). You want to help them promote their product/service, and by doing that you want to tell/list why you're a good candidate for that! Keep in mind that a business wants to advertise with whatever brings in customers, and while some are geared more towards certain forms of advertising, others may not want to get into racing only for promotions. Car shows, promotions for the business, and getting their name(s) out are others forms to use. Most experts agree you should have a presentation prepared (on paper and speech/pitch form) with what level(s) of sponsership you offer, and what costs to the business are at each level (levels can be determines by amount of work you do for them, size/placement of decals, etc). Check out National Dragster, as they have a column from a motorsports marketing manager every month that gives tips on this subject.

Good luck!

Derek
Old 08-22-2005, 12:23 PM
TECH Fanatic