Dynamometer Results & Comparisons Dyno Records | Dyno Discussion | Dyno Wars

Dyno Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2006, 07:55 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Dyno Question

I am new to the whole Dyno Tune thing so I have a couple of questions for you guys. All of my mods are in my sig:
1) What is the diffence between a Dyno Tune and a Mail in Tune? I mean dont they still program Cam, Air/Fuel, Timing, Gears, Tire Size....etc on either?
2) On a Dyno Tune do they take the computer out of the car and program it and stick it backin?
3) Do they change shift points? If so then why?
4) If I have it Dyno Tuned and put more mods into the car, for example a 3200 Stall Conveter, do I have to have it Dyno Tuned again or would the mail in tune be sufficient?
5) Should I expect a Horsepower increase over the mail in tune? If so then any idea how much? (estimate)
6) Is it not recomened to Dyno Tune the car in the Summer becasue of heat & humidity? Should I wait until mid to late Fall?
7) Can a local Dyno Tune place overide the mail in tune I have already installed in the car? Do you recomend or not recomend this or does it matter?
Thanks for the help guys!!
Chad
Old 07-12-2006, 02:48 AM
12 Second Club

Damm, nobody?
Old 07-12-2006, 08:43 AM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

1. personaly, i wouldnt use a main order tune. getting a tune is almost like custom work for your car.
2. they do not take the computer out. most or some use hp tuners or ls1 edit which is a plug n play setup that just gets plugged into your cars ecu. they shouldnt need to take it out.
3. changing your shift point depends on the cam and supporting valve train mods you have done. some cams peak at 6300 rpms others at 6600 rpm. it all depends on your setup.