Florida Members Fun, sun and LS1's

this was cool montgomery track

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2008, 07:29 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default this was cool montgomery track

Default An Open Letter to all Street Racers from Jim Howard of Montgomery Motorsports Park
An Open Letter to all Street Racers from Jim Howard of Montgomery Motorsports Park:

Eight more deaths in a street racing incident this past weekend and many more seriously injured. I don't understand it. Just a few weeks ago, we had two of our fellow racers and friends killed right here in Alabama. As a matter of fact, one them drove right past MMP just to have a fatal street racing incident 90 miles away.

I am a rookie track owner-operator, so every place I go I ask people, "Do you like drag racing?" Last Saturday, I got an answer that scared me. I was talking to a young lady (an employee of a local business) and I asked her the same question, "Do you like drag racing?" She said "I have never been to a drag strip but my friends and I enjoy watching the street racing that goes on in Montgomery". I asked if she heard about the people who had been killed the night before; she had not and it scared her to death!

I gave her free tickets to Montgomery Motorsports Park and invited her and her friends to come out and enjoy running their cars and watching during one of our Friday Test and Tune sessions (beginning March 7), to race in a safe and controlled environment. She was very excited at that idea. But I want to do more.

I am committed to stop the street racing and bringing it to the drag strip. Over 75 percent of all street or grudge race machines are cars or bikes that are trailered to the race site, then unloaded and raced on our streets. Why? I am calling on all street racers in the River Region and everywhere to stop killing and injuring themselves, their friends and neighbors.