Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Water pump and hot side issues.

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2014, 05:34 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Water pump and hot side issues.

I bought my Hotside and turbonetics 78/75 off of a Buddy and member on here, well somehow with both of us having truck manifolds and the exact same car (LS1 and Lq4 camaro) when I mounted the kit (nothing changed when he took it off and sold it to me) the turbo is sitting within a 1/16th of an inch from the water pump snout, but yet his had over 1/4" clearance. Do the Lq4 and LS1 have different style water pumps? I would rather change water pumps then to have to sell and re-do the entire hotside. Any suggestions? Will Try and get u some pictures of how close. Like I said its within a 1/16th of an inch, Im afraid even when the water pump wears through the turbo blanket and things heat up that it will rub and cause vibration. Any suggestions are welcome, Im a newbie at this forced induction side so be easy guys! Thanks ahead of time!
Old 07-02-2014, 05:53 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Which water pump is on it? A stock LS1 style pump or a truck style pump? I know some guys go with the corvette style pump because the pulley is flat on the front instead of sticking out and having that big round pulley that sticks out really far.
Old 07-03-2014, 07:44 AM
8 Second Club

Received 676 Likes on 499 Posts

The big one is the LS1 pump. I picked this one up next to it off Ebay. It was listed as an LS7 pump.

I did have to pull the pump about 1/8th inch or maybe a little more to get the Fbody accesses and belt to line up.

Old 07-03-2014, 09:04 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts