Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Turbo LS powered S10 questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2016, 09:23 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo LS powered S10 questions

Alright,

I recently left the diesel world in exchange for the gas world to keep things fresh. I've worked on everything diesel related since I was a freshman in high school and am now 27 and primarily deal with diesel with my turbo business. Not much desire to continue down that path so here I am. I want to lay out my plans and I am just looking for somebody to pick through it and tell me if I am way off base as I would like to build/buy parts as few times as possible.

Plans:

single cab shorty S-10
8.8 rear narrowed
leafs with caltracs
10.5 slick/radial
TH400 with mild build
4.8 with LS9 gaskets
HP tuned on factory ECU
S475 billet borg.

The place I am going to look at engines offers them with factory ecu and fuse box all attached as well. I plan to rid it of any unnecessary wiring and add what is needed to make it work.

From the eye bleeding amount I have read I plan to attempt for 600whp with a 171702 borg (S475 big turbine) and drop in an 11 blade billet wheel because I can and have them on the shelf.

I realize it is the big 96mm turbine version with the 1.32 housing on it but borg recently released the 1.15 housing for it if need be. I chose this turbo because it is not import and they are very reasonable to purchase.

I am attempting to do this on a reasonable budget. I don't plan to go out the first day run 10s.

Opinions on the S475? Should I go 83 or 87 turbine instead? too much compressor for what I am after? Sorry but I am not going to use anything off of ebay, import, Chinese, whatever name you want to call it.

Any other input is appreciated on the rest of the build.
Old 09-18-2016, 09:49 PM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts