Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Why the pressure drop when wastegate is the same??!

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2019, 09:37 AM
On The Tree

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Why the pressure drop when wastegate is the same??!

I have a turbo 5.3 and have been going back and fourth with tuner to finalize the tune.. I have a Tial WG set with 13# springs and setup has ALWAYS made 10-10.5 psi with sometimes spiking to 11. Last night I was doing some logs and I got on it twice and it would only hit 9psi max both times just came up to 9 and stayed steady.. I’m no expert but I’m trying to figure out why the drop in pressure all the sudden when nothing’s been changed besides adjusting fueling and whatnot for tune.. we’ve been making adjustments for the last week and no matter what it always came up to 10psi at least. Only thing I’m leaning towards is possibly the “cheap” BOV cracking open under power? But why now and not then?

I have a new spring on the way to eliminate this possibility, and have thought for awhile that it had the wrong spring, as it’s all the way open at idle and Tial states it should only be cracked open and should need 11psi for the -19 to -20 hg my motor pulls in vac.. but none the less it’s always made more boost pressure than currently.

I should note that everything is BRAND new and less than 2 months old EXCEPT BOV.. it’s a Precision 76/75 and Tial 44mm wastegate with an On3 BOV.
Motor is a bone stock 5.3 with BTR springs.

I hope I’m a super rookie and just missing something simple.. haven’t checked thoroughly for exhaust leaks but sure didn’t hear anything while looking it over last night.
Old 03-13-2019, 09:42 AM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts

Its just 1 PSI. There are a ton of things that can affect it. Even outside temperature. If something like that is causing it, then you are likely making the same amount of power, just on 1 PSI less.

Btw, spring ratings are not to be taken to heart.