General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Starting a project.

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2016, 02:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting a project.

Hello everyone,
I've lurked around here for quite some time to peak my imagination on what I would like to do. But since my 03 silverado was my only vehicle, I never really dove into it. Recently my 3/4 went out so I bought a 91 k1500 for 800 bucks to get me around while I do work on the 03. I pulled the tranny/transfer case yesterday and have settled on this kit. https://www.700r4l60e.com/store/product.php?productid=470&cat=55&page=1

​​​​​​The more I think about it, I want to go ahead and do work on the 5.3 while I've got my truck torn apart. I've bounced a lot of ideas around, seen posts on the 01+ 6.0 swap and all that but I think I'm okay with just keeping the 5.3. I don't have an in depth knowledge of automobiles but I was an aerospace propulsion tech and a millwright, so I have a few skill sets at my disposal. I would like to do some work on the engine but all the specifics tend to make my head spin, I'd like to squeeze a few more horses out of the engine seen as how I'm beefing up the tranny but don't know where to start.