TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My maintenance list...

1998 Z28-M6-90k Miles-93 octane
CODES:
P0113: intake air temp circuit
P0410: secondary air injection system fault
P0412: secondary air injection system fault
P0418: SECONDARY AIR INJECTION SYSTEM FAULT!

^^Assuming that ALL leads to a failed air pump, except the temp, How much will an air pump run me, and can i put it in myself, i have little car experience but im a handy-man.

misc noises/smells:
Exhaust smells kind of rich to me...my only mods are a catback+Lid

squeaky pulleys-its intermittently...almost 100% random, and typically at idle.

weird oil pressure, most of the time its at 40, but once in a while it drops by 10ish and when i give it some revs it builds back up...whats the proper pressure? 5.5 quarts? since i figure ill be changing the oil within the week.

also i think the previous owner had some sort of tune...because when i city drive, i can coast around 5th gear at 1700 RPMS at 35 MPH, is this normal? or bad for the engine/clutch?

ALSO i dont know if this is the clutch slipping/grinding or just normal, but when im downshifting to first i can hear a coarse whirring and resistance from the clutch, although if i give it a few rpms to match it then it slips right in...also, VERY rarely i will not be able to go into first at a stop, so i just put it in second, THEN into first, and it goes in easy.

thank you for your time and input!
Old 08-11-2011, 09:35 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

AIR pump isn't hard to put in - it's a nuisance because of where it is, but it's a mechanically simple job. You might want to consider just ditching the whole AIR system if you don't need it for visual emissions and if your state doesn't do the emissions code check; it's a useless system, really. If you do need to keep it, you might check the classifieds or put a wanted ad up; a lot of guys just toss theirs in the trash when they delete the AIR system.