General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

trans am over heating

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2011, 10:14 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default trans am over heating

its been a bad day for me guys... long story short- popped my coolant hose going into the block (im a horrible mechanic, bare with my lack of knowledge). we fixed it, had to get a water flow control valve. we finally get that done, refill the reservoir with coolant and it starts back up... now it's over heating. we're trying to figure out if we installed the valve wrong or if the thermostat went to bed too. has anybody had this problem before?
Old 10-16-2011, 01:40 PM
TECH Resident

If the thermostat is opening then it sounds like you have air in the system.
Old 10-16-2011, 02:31 PM
Banned

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Da'-hell is a water flow control valve.......?

And filling that overflow reservoir does absolutely nothing for you....you MUST top off the radiator..........

Yes...probably just an air pocket. You have to bleed that sucker....here ya go:

**Bleeding the system of air: