General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Coolant Problem - Not Sure

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2011, 02:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Coolant Problem - Not Sure

I recently had to have my cross pipe replaced because it was leaking coolant from the fitting at the block. Getting it back from the shop, coolant was spewing out of the radiator cap, not the overflow. I tried filling up the radiator with fluid, and trying to bleed the system of air by only opening the bleed air valves, but nothing came out of the bottom one, and very little to none at all came out of the top. Before taking the car in, the temp would read slightly below 210. Now it barely comes above 160. I am new to vehicle maintaince to this degree, and I posted to a different thread for modifications (this is my first forum ever so I am still discovering how to use these) and they said that I might have air in the lines. I'm gonna try flushing and bleeding the system my self, but what is the likely hood that the cross pipe is not hooked up right, which from what I am thinking, its not letting the coolant circulate through the system. The car is not driven very much since I'm in the military and its located at my parents house for now, so access is limited. Any suggestions?
Old 11-12-2011, 08:21 AM
Save the manuals!

Received 322 Likes on 295 Posts

Is your coolant system stock?

A few first steps:
- Make sure the tube connecting the radiator neck to the overflow is not clogged and holds suction. (I hook a vaccum pump up to the hose with a clear section of tubing and see if I can pull fluid back to the clear section and hold it steady for a while under suction.)
- Your radiator cap is probably bad and its time for a new one. If it won't hold pressure properly, it will leak as you described and your overflow won't work properly. (Because the system isn't holding pressure properly.)