General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Security light stays on

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2013, 04:47 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Security light stays on

Hello again. Just got this 2002 z28 2 months ago. As of this morning, the security light came on. Car performs flawlessly, but the Security light stays on. I only have one key, and yes, its clean. I have looked up the vats bypass online, but all I have found were directed toward older lt1 models. Would the vats bypass work (resistors under the dash) to remedy this problem? I am a college student and money is a factor.
Old 03-13-2013, 04:54 PM
Trunion King

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Cannonball
Hello again. Just got this 2002 z28 2 months ago. As of this morning, the security light came on. Car performs flawlessly, but the Security light stays on. I only have one key, and yes, its clean. I have looked up the vats bypass online, but all I have found were directed toward older lt1 models. Would the vats bypass work (resistors under the dash) to remedy this problem? I am a college student and money is a factor.
Yes. Just find out what resistor you need to get rid of the light. Get an ohm meter.
Old 03-13-2013, 05:54 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Its easy to do. I made mine so i can unplug the resistor if i want and the car would never start
Old 03-13-2013, 06:38 PM
TECH Resident

more info please
Old 03-14-2013, 11:04 AM
Teching In

I have now bypassed the vats as mentioned before. However, the security light remains on. Sent it to work with a friend today who will put it on the scan tool, as I am hoping the code just needs deleted. Otherwise, I am stumped as to what it could be. Does anyone else have any suggestions or ideas as to how to fix this? I need this car running 100% a.s.a.p.

Last edited by Cannonball; 03-14-2013 at 11:31 AM.
Old 03-14-2013, 03:28 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Cannonball