Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hooker Maxflow Install Write-up

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009, 12:20 AM
Pontiacerator

Received 206 Likes on 173 Posts

Default Hooker Maxflow Install Write-up

I've been running a GMMG for about four years on my Formula. It sounded great, but was fairly loud, and I was ready for a change. I wanted to find a system that would be quieter and lighter.

I was intrigued by this thread by 7 Plagues: https://ls1tech.com/forums/generatio...ack-style.html So I followed his approach exactly, except for running a 3" tailpipe out to the bumper with a 45* turndown.

Impressions: idle & light throttle - very quiet with some deep resonance; cruise - almost silent; medium throttle - moderately quiet with a hollow, "airy" sound, similar to an aerochamber; full throttle - almost as loud as a GMMG but not as deep. Best quality: NO RASP at any throttle position. What's amazing is how a system can be so quiet in normal driving, and so loud at WOT.

Overall, I'm quite pleased. The car feels just as responsive; I don't expect to see much of a difference at the track, but we'll see. I could post pics and a sound clip but 7 Plagues has them in his thread.
Old 03-09-2009, 01:08 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The setup in the link you posted sounds good. You should post a sound clip of your setup. Also, are you looking to sell your GMMG?
Old 03-09-2009, 02:33 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Nice, glad to see others using this muffler. So far I am super happy with it and I will be posting clips later this week hopefully with my LPP Longtubes installed. Should sound pretty wild.

Also, once the muffler breaks in it becomes a little more toney which i loved. Congrats
Old 03-09-2009, 08:47 AM
Pontiacerator

Received 206 Likes on 173 Posts

Originally Posted by 7plagues