Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mid length vs. Longtubes

Old 07-27-2009, 01:53 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mid length vs. Longtubes

Well guys yet another header question. Is there a huge difference between mid lengths and longtubes b/c if i can get cheap mid lengths from a member im going to get them, or do yall think there is a big enough difference between the two to wait it out and get longtubes, keep in mind im a broke college student, im not planning a cam maybe just rockers in the not so near future,car just has bolt on's, all opinions are appreciated thanks guys, also what is the collector size on the mac mids? thanks again!
Old 07-27-2009, 02:00 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think the only difference would be depeding on the displacement and mod's. They usually dyno a tad lower from what I have seen. Hence, if you are a broke college student go with the mid tubes. If you think it may bother you in a year or so that you want long tubes don't because you will eventually buy LT's.
Old 07-27-2009, 02:03 AM
TECH Fanatic

check the for sale because i saw a couple header for sale there even a set of pacesetters for like 125 shipped. Ive heard people say that mids only work a little better then stock but LT get you between 10 and 20 hp. I would wait and save up for LT's and a ORY if you dont need the cats.
Old 07-27-2009, 02:04 AM
On The Tree

i would wait it out and get longtubes. I am also a broke college student so i know where you are coming from, just keep checking here, craigslist, ebay, other forums, etc... for good deals on stuff. I just bought a set of hooker super comp ceramic coated longtubes that retail for over $600 for $280 in good cond. off craigslist and also a B&M ripper short shifter for $40 in excellent cond. that retails for $180. Just wait and look, you well come across good deals.
Old 07-27-2009, 02:07 AM