Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

? about filter before the MAF

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2003, 10:31 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ? about screen before the MAF

I am new to F body cars. I bought a '98 Z28 with 48,000 miles on it last week. I was recharging the K&N filter it came with when I noticed the screen that is down the tube just prior to the MAF was covered with large debri. Turns out there is a crack in the airbox lid (stock) where it kind of flexes on the bottom side. The crack is very large and is allowing unfiltered air to enter and hit the screen, along with debri. I can get a new stock lid from a local junk yard for $20 (until I can buy an aftermarket high flow lid) but it does not have the SCREEN thing in it.

So my question is, should the lid have the SCREEN in it or is the SCREEN located in the tube that the lid slides on? I do not have my car close by to look at, and the junk yard says they don't know which piece the screen should be in. Also, does that screen have a specific name?

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by 98Z-6Speed; 12-31-2003 at 10:45 AM.
Old 12-31-2003, 11:00 AM
jrp
SN95 Director

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

there is no screen prior to the MAF screen. which is one reason its good to keep the MAF screen because sometimes **** manages to get by the filter even on a good lid . i dont know if it was a special or not but the motorsports direct flow lid was going for 75 bucks, you cant beat that price.
Old 12-31-2003, 11:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by jrp
there is no screen prior to the MAF screen. which is one reason its good to keep the MAF screen because sometimes **** manages to get by the filter even on a good lid . i dont know if it was a special or not but the motorsports direct flow lid was going for 75 bucks, you cant beat that price.