Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on installing LT headers and tuning

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2016, 10:03 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on installing LT headers and tuning

I've read a bunch of write up on installing LT headers and y-pipe. This will be my first time installing a full exhaust so just want to make sure I have everything down right the first time. Here is the list of what I think I need. (for an 01 trans am)

-Long tube headers
-y-pipe no cats
-24in o2 extensions (pair)
-air block of plate
-band clamps
-new gaskets
-tuner

As for a tuner I was looking at a SCT X4, will I need a customer tune to turn off the SES light for the air delete? Online it say it can turn off the rear o2 sensors, but nothing about the air system. I will be using a lift from work to do this. Any advice would be great as its my first time doing this. The only mods to the car right now are an SLP lid and Hurst shifter.

Thanks
Old 05-16-2016, 10:26 PM
On The Tree

You don't have anyone local to do a dyno tune? I did the same thing and drove a hundred miles to get a good dyno tune.
Old 05-17-2016, 09:07 AM
Teching In

I do, I live in near Columbus Ohio. But they are wanting around $599 for just a flash.
Old 05-17-2016, 09:23 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by NineZeroFive
You don't have anyone local to do a dyno tune? I did the same thing and drove a hundred miles to get a good dyno tune.
If you know someone in the Columbus Ohio let me know. I'm trying to learn how to work on my car. Tired of paying stupid money for things that I know I can do if someone showed me how.
Old 05-17-2016, 11:17 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts