Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

possible X or H

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 05:44 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year
Default possible X or H

this is on a car that will not recieve LT's. that being said, i was wondering if there would be any real gain from puttin an X or H pipe and true duals on my camaro and either leaving my manifolds w/cats on or putting shorties on with the cats.

remember this SS is not gonna have LT's. anyone done this, read about it, heard about it or seen it?
Old 11-18-2007, 06:32 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i have an H-pipe with flowmaster single chambers with stock manifold and cats on my SS. power-wise, i dont think i gained a lot. i plan on getting long tubes and taking out the cats later on and i hear that headers are what really make power on these cars. but i really love the sound it makes, nice and deep sounding. if i were you, i wouldn't get shorties, i'd either stick with the stock manifolds or get long tubes, just because you wouldnt gain enough power from shorties to justify the cost of the headers+installation IMO.
Old 11-18-2007, 06:47 PM
TECH Veteran

LS1Tech 10 Year

Originally Posted by dutinsss
i have an H-pipe with flowmaster single chambers with stock manifold and cats on my SS. power-wise, i dont think i gained a lot. i plan on getting long tubes and taking out the cats later on and i hear that headers are what really make power on these cars. but i really love the sound it makes, nice and deep sounding. if i were you, i wouldn't get shorties, i'd either stick with the stock manifolds or get long tubes, just because you wouldnt gain enough power from shorties to justify the cost of the headers+installation IMO.