Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about Pushrod Length

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2011, 12:30 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about Pushrod Length

Ok so it is my first time measuring for pushrods (except for the rocker bolt turn technique) and i'm trying to confirm if I did it right.

Set-up:

PRC LS6 heads milled .020, stock LS1 headgasket and Lunati street lifters which are supposed to be .050 taller than stock lifter and SNL V2 cam.

here is what I did:

Put the cylinder to TDC (heads were off so confirmed this by sight). installed CC adjustable pushrod and by guess and check to get the PR close to zero lash. installed the rocker arm and torqued it to 22ft lbs and then adjusting the adjustable pushrod with my fingers until the rocker is just snug and the play is gone. Then removed pushrod and measured. Got a length of 7.245 at zero lash and then added .030 for preload giving me an overall length of 7.275. This seems short to me. If someone who has some experience with this could post up if this length seem realistic or if I messed something up somewhere. Thanks.
Old 11-03-2011, 01:17 PM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by 97blackz28
Ok so it is my first time measuring for pushrods (except for the rocker bolt turn technique) and i'm trying to confirm if I did it right.

Set-up:

PRC LS6 heads milled .020, stock LS1 headgasket and Lunati street lifters which are supposed to be .050 taller than stock lifter and SNL V2 cam.

here is what I did: