Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Potential causes for detonation

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2004, 04:28 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Potential causes for detonation

I'm just thinking out loud about the possible causes for detonation in my setup.

I have MTI S2 heads milled .030 with a C1 cam and a stock shortblock with Hypertech tuning. I have been running this setup for two years now without a problem. I have numerous dyno pulls showing A/F in the 12.4-13.1 range with Autotap showing a max of 27 degrees timing. Every now and then I get a little pinging in 6th under 2K rpm.

A few weeks ago I thought I had a blown headgasket so I pulled the heads and found some damage in cylinders 5 and 7. The damage appears to be detonation related. I will have a better idea once MTI gets the heads in hand as to what caused the damage.

My concern now is that I need to fix what caused this damage. If it is detonation, what would be causing it to be this bad now?

1) 80K miles of carbon build up on the piston crowns and CCs causing a decrease in CC volume making my compression ratio climb
2) burning oil due to the PCV system causing a loss of octane
3) fuel injectors getting dirty causing less fuel in those two chambers
4) a couple of partially collapsed lifters not allowing full lift on those intake valves

Maybe a combination of these issues caused the problem.

Last edited by 1madss; 04-13-2004 at 09:42 PM.
Old 04-13-2004, 10:37 PM
TECH Resident

Maybe I should have asked if carbon build up in the CC could actually raise compression ratio. It looks like it could easily be .010-.020 thick.

I had also expected to find detonation damage on the piston or rings before head damage.
Old 04-13-2004, 10:54 PM
TECH Senior Member

Sorry to hear about the troubles Mark..

From what I've seen, tuning is the key for controling detonation. May want to talk to the MTI folks about a tune.