Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ4/LQ9 Checklist!! Please Help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2013, 12:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4/LQ9 Checklist!! Please Help!

Ive been searching and searching for an LQ4 and LQ9 engine complete takeout with all accessories/computer/harness for my 2nd generation transam. I use car-part.com and some others. I am finding most good deals are on the engine only WITHOUT the computer and accessories (alternator, power steering, etc.)

I am new to the EFI world and am still confused after searching threads on what to MAKE sure I get if I buy the engine ALONE w/o accessories. Ive been told its NOT hard to find a computer to match up with another engine and it only cost about $60-$80. (is this true??)

Is there anyone that can maybe help me out with a checklist. I already know intake and oil pan isnt an issue because I will be replacing them regardless.

Here is what Little I have: (please add and/or edit!!)

LQ4/LQ9 Long block- $800-$1000 (junkyard)

computer to match the engine - $60-$80 (junkyard)

Alternator $75 (junkyard)

power steering pump $50 (junkyard)

water pump $50 (junkyard)

F-Body oil pan $200 (ebay)

Stand alone harness $500 (ebay or sponsor here)

I know I am missing alot so help would be appreciated. It may be worth it too just wait and wait for a complete liftout engine, but just looking at it this way first. THANKS in advance!!
Old 03-26-2013, 01:23 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Stay away from the 2000-2001 (I think) lq4, it has a longer crank hub on the back of it that might give you problems finding the correct tranny for it.

Pcms for less sells most of the computers for our cars for around $99

Go to lt1swap.com and they have lots of pinouts and step by step to go through a stock harness to cut it fown to a good standalone unit (I used their guides to do mine).

Hope I helped!
Old 03-26-2013, 02:15 PM
TECH Apprentice