Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Building forged 5.3 block from summit without machine shop?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2017, 05:23 PM
9 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building forged 5.3 block from summit without machine shop?

Ok so in my area finding a machine shop worth anything is next to impossible and the one machine shop in the area that is good usually takes 9-12 months turn time to do a motor. So I bought a 5.3 block off summit racing that is apparently left over GM stock that are already machined and have cam bearings pressed in so my hope is that I can build this block without the use of machine shop. I have never assembled a bottom end before (only ever done rod bolts and cam installs) so I am a complete newbie on engine building. My question is theoretically can I buy a balanced forged rotating assembly with 3.78 pistons and put in this block and stud everything so long as everything checks out while doing so? Has anyone done this and can share some knowledge with me.
Thanks
Old 02-09-2017, 07:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

https://ls1tech.com/forums/generatio...-ls-block.html
Old 02-09-2017, 09:05 PM
9 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by geoff17