Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4.3 Bore Pitting Help Please!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2020, 09:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.3 Bore Pitting Help Please!!!

Hey everyone, I’m very new to this and this is my first time ever joining a automotive form so any advice would be greatly appreciated.🙂

So here is my question, I’m 19 and I really wanted to do a LS swap, Last week I was looking for a 5.3 so I could do my first LS swap,
I always wanted to do one. So as I was looking for a 5.3 I found a long block 4.8 on letgo for 200 and I talked to the guy said I wanted to look at it and so we met up and he dropped the price to 150, I Only had bills so he got 160. One other thing that I realized was that some water was in the heads but the valves were closed so I thought so I didn’t think anything of it. Monday I took the motor apart and water was all in the cylinders, not just one or two but all of them had very bad rust. So I got some CLR the next day and let it sit to try and loosen up the pistons and that did not work. I had to unbolt the pistons from the crank and chisel the pistons out one by one. After that I took a wire wheel to it and got almost all the rust out but I had a lot of pitting especially were the water was. I talked to a Machine Shop that had good reviews and he said that he would have to over bore it until the Pitting is gone and with that it would be $325 the way he said it should like a rough estimate so it might be more. So with that should I let him bore it until the pitting is gone and end up with a weird displacement engine, or do you think I can bore it to a 5.7 and be able to get parts more easily.
I really want to still use the block and I was going to go all out for this engine anyway, but I still want to spend money smart. So what do y’all think 😶.

Edit