Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 Engine knock? Lifters? Rod?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2024, 12:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question LS1 Engine knock? Lifters? Rod?

LS1 newbie here!
My 2001 Corvette with 53,000 Miles has developed a knocking and unsure what im hearing. Starts great but after a minute or 2 of idling the knocking becomes more noticable as the car warms up, Oil pressure reads good as 30-32PSI at 700 Idle and 40-46psi driving at 1500-2000. I did an oil change and noticed some sparkles in the plastic oil catch pan, but when i cut open the filter it looked super clean, i drained a bit of oil couple days after the oil change and noticed smaller ammount of sparkles yet still there. Im sending in a sample to blackStone Oil but would still like to see if anyone can help! No check engine lights are on and when i took off the valve covers there was no sign of any sparkles or damage to my understanding. Videos and pictures will attached! The noise is very noticable when coming down in rpms and is very loud around 1000-1500 RPMS or idle.

Attached Files
File Type: mp3
2nd Engine Knock.mp3 (183.7 KB, 27 views)
File Type: mp3
Engine Knock.mp3 (120.3 KB, 25 views)
Old 02-27-2024, 06:30 AM
12 Second Club

Received 599 Likes on 474 Posts

Not a rod knock, I would pull your valve covers and check your rocker arms. Might have lost some needle bearings. Could have a failed lifter too. It's definitely a valvetrain issue, the sound is too high pitched to be in the bottom end.
The following users liked this post:
GavinR (03-03-2024)
Old 02-27-2024, 06:52 AM
TECH Resident

Received 252 Likes on 184 Posts