Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My 3 engine package options. Whaddya think?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2007, 03:19 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default My 3 engine package options. Whaddya think?

First off, I gotta say I'm still pretty new at the LS based engine. So if my packages are missing something or are way off base, let me know. Thanks.

Well, I know its a early on in my build, but I'm trying to narrow down my options for an engine package for my car. Its a 66 Nova Hardtop. I plan on putting a 4L60E in it, with a Dana 60 and 3.55 gears (maybe 3.73), and whatever stall converter is recommended (3500-4000?). The car will see the drag strip maybe once in its life, and spend the rest of its time going to shows, cruises, driving with the family, and obviously hittin' the back roads for some abuse But I want it fast, and I want it mean...... Hey, it's a musclecar, right?

The typical weight for a 66 Hardtop is around the 2700-2900 pound range. It will be minitubbed with a 285 to 315 rear tire on a 17 inch wheel, with about a 45% aspect ratio. I would like to see at least 425RWHP. No air conditioning, no power steering, just an alternator and water pump. Full headers, 3" exhaust (hopefully, if 3" can't fit, then 2.5"), not sure on the mufflers yet.

Anyways, I've got my eyes on these so far (in no particular order):

A. SLP P/N 12293 - SLP 64cc L92 Heads, L76 intake, Comp Cams 918 springs, 1.7 rockers, and I would use the TSP Magic Stick 3.0 on a stock LS2 block.

B. PRC P/N 199PKG1 - Stage 2.5 5.3 heads, 2.04 intake, 1.575 exhaust, PRC double springs, titanium retainers, Magic Stick 3.0 Cam, I would also use an LS6 intake and a ported TB. All on a stock LS1 block.

C. PRC P/N 199PRCLS6 - Stage 2.5 LS6 Heads, 2.04 Intake, 1.575 exhaust, PRC double springs, titanium retainers, Magic Stck 3.0 Cam, and I would use an LS6 intake and ported TB on a stock LS2 block.