Generation IV External Engine LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS7 overall size

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2016, 02:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS7 overall size

Hi there, im new to the forum and from the UK, I am looking to do an engine swap in my B5 Audi RS4, and at the same time run it RWD rather than the boring 4wd.

Is there a link to any sites or pictures that would give me the physical dimensions of the LS7 engine - just to make sure as I think it will actually fit in the engine bay, I know other people have put audi v8 engines in the B5 but I want fairly decent power without turbochargers

thanks in advance
Old 04-14-2016, 02:51 PM
TECH Resident

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Check out post #10 http://www.trifive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24244
Old 04-14-2016, 04:08 PM

ok thanks, im new to these engines, that says LS1 I assume they are all the same physical size then??
Old 04-14-2016, 04:57 PM
TECH Resident

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Correct, The Induction varies, stock, aftermarket, superchargers, truck intakes, car intakes
you get the idea.
Exhaust varies as well.
Good luck on that swap, and make a build thread to keep everybody updated, and everybody
likes pictures.
Old 04-15-2016, 01:05 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 149 Likes on 96 Posts

I had looked into this also and there is an adapter plate to retain the 01E transaxle. That would be an insane machine keeping it AWD. If you don't.... the rear end being a small ring gear probably wouldn't last very long.

The original 2.7i V6 is super wide as I had an '01 S4 Avant myself. 160mph with skiis on the roof makes for a fun wagon .

I'm guessing the narrow LSx engine would open up a lot more space; however you should look at dimensions to figure it all out. You may have to run a remote water pump if the radiator is too close. All the LSx engines dimensionally are the same aside from oil pans.