Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

LC9 powered RX-7

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2015, 08:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LC9 powered RX-7

This has perhaps been beaten to death, but I have searched, trust me I have.

I found a good deal, a LC9 engine for $400 that the owner claims he had replaced and I quote "I have a 2008 GMC Yucon 1500 XL SLT 5.3L Engine for parts or rebuild. This Engine has a 214000 mile and has some problem. replaced with another engine and this one can be rebuild. here is the exact problem for this engine from my mechanic. "2008 5.3 with fuel active management. #4 cylinder has a low compression by 30 psi lower. Causing rough idle. Flat cam on #4?" I am not a mechanic and I cant answer any technical Questions. if you are interested you can contact me. I can not deliver the engine. it will be a buyers responsibility to pick it up. the engine located at Interstate I70 and Quebec.
PS: Vin 8 is 3 NO OTHER ACCESSORIES ONLY ENGINE.
$700.00 OBO. Thank you for your Business.
do NOT contact me with unsolicited services o"

Before this I was going to buy a EXT aluminum engine for $600 but the seller seems lazy and unwilling to communicate, so I decided to pursue elsewhere which led to this. I am no stranger to building engined or working on cars, so I can tackle the rebuild, but I am have more of a PHD in rotary engines to be honest. I have done some head braking research on the matter, I know tat DOD (displacement on demand) might have so culprit in the matter of low compression. Are these LC9 engines a good platform? and I ask because I wish to swap some ls goodies here and there. I like the lower displacement 5.3 since this car is going to be oriented towards auto-x and track, thus my pursue of the Al block.